Northern Lights College expresses gratitude to the First Nations people of the
Cree, Dane-zaa, Dene, Denek’éh, Dunne-za, Iroquois, Kaska, Saulteaux,
Tsaa? Ché Ne Dane, Tse’khene, Tahltan, and Tlingit for sharing
their territory with us.

We acknowledge the enduring presence of First Nations, Inuit, and Métis people
and as guests we live, we work, and we learn on their beautiful land.

Together we are able to create hope and opportunity for all the people of our
college region through post-secondary educational opportunities.

 

Aboriginal Services

Aboriginal Services staff

Northern Lights College Aboriginal Services team (from left): Theresa
Gladue, Bev Lambert, Lorisha Desjarlais, Kristiana Bailey (former Fort
Nelson Advisor), Henriette Landry and David Christie

 

Services to Aboriginal students include:

  • advice about NLC admissions, programs, and services
  • support for program preparation and successful completion
  • assistance with, and information about financial aid
  • advocacy for Aboriginal student issues
  • referrals to community agencies for personal support
  • specialized services to Treaty, Status, Inuit, Metis, and non-status students

Northern Lights College has Aboriginal Gathering Spaces available on each of the Chetwynd, Dawson Creek, Fort Nelson and Fort St. John campuses. These Gathering Spaces provide a shared place for all Aboriginal students to socialize, hold special events, and receive advocacy and support from the Aboriginal Student Advisors and fellow students. Aboriginal Student Advisors can work with you to help promote your personal and professional success as you journey in pursuit of your post-secondary education. Computers and internet access are also available for students at these locations.

 

Need Assistance, have questions or concerns, or need a little more information?
Please send an email to the NLC Gathering Place email address:

gatheringplace@warwickbs.org
or, contact an Aboriginal Student Advisor on your campus of choice:

dreamcatcher

Theresa Gladue
Dawson Creek Campus

Phone: 250-784-7544
E-mail: tgladue@warwickbs.org

Henriette Landry
Chetwynd Campus
(also serving Tumbler Ridge)

Phone: 250-788-2248 ext. 4313
E-mail: hlandry@warwickbs.org

Bev Lambert
Fort St. John Campus

Phone: 250-785-6981 ext. 2003
E-mail: blambert@warwickbs.org

Denise Stager
Fort Nelson Campus

Phone: 250-774-2741
E-mail: dstager@warwickbs.org

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

Lorisha Desjarlais - Coordinator of Aboriginal Relations
Dawson Creek Campus

Phone: 250-782-5251 ext. 1262 
E-mail: ldesjarlais@warwickbs.org
11401 - 8th Street
Dawson Creek, BC V1G 4G2

Richard Resener - Coordinator of Aboriginal Relations
Fort Nelson Campus

Phone: 250-774-2741 ext. 4602
E-mail: rresener@warwickbs.org
Box 860, 5201 Simpson Trail,
Fort Nelson, BC  V0C 1R0

 

Ken Edzerza - Coordinator of Aboriginal Relations
Dease Lake Campus

Phone: 250-771-5500
E-mail: kedzerza@warwickbs.org
Box 220, Lot 10, Commercial Drive
Dease Lake, BC V0C 1L

David Christie - Director of Aboriginal Education
Fort St. John Campus

Phone: 250-785-6981 ext. 2020
E-mail: dchristie@warwickbs.org
Box 1000, 9820 - 120 Avenue
Fort St. John, BC V1J 6K1